Meet The Team

Our expert team sets us apart. BUFFF is home to world-class scientists and engineers with interests in novel nuclear fuels.

Principal Investigator

Dr Simon Middleburgh

Simon is the founder of BUFFF, he has many years of experience of manufacturing nuclear fuels.


Dr MJD Rushton


Michael is a senior lecturer with interests in the atomic scale modelling of materials.

Prof W Lee


Bill is a Sêr Cymru professor of materials and extreme environments.

Dr RS Springell


Ross is a lecturer on the Bristol MSc in Nuclear Science and Engineering.

Dr C Corkhill


Claire holds a Chair in nuclear material degradation, working in the Immobilisation Science Laboratory at the University of Sheffield.

Prof TJ Abram


Tim Abram is a Professor of Nuclear Fuel Technology at the University of Manchester.

Dr J Turner


Joel is a lecturer in Nuclear Fuel Technology. He teaches on fuel and fuel cycle courses, reactor physics and on Generation IV reactor systems at undergraduate and postgraduate level.

Researcher Co-Investigators

Dr PS Makurunje

Researcher co-Investigator

Phylis bring a wealth of ceramic materials manufacture knowledge and experience to the group.

Dr R Mohun

Researcher Co-Investigator

Ritesh’s research focusses on developing novel materials and investigating material behaviour in extreme environments.

Technical Staff

Samuel owen

IT & Computing

Sam is BUFFF’s resident computer-based research technician and IT generalist.

David Williams

Senior Technician

David completed his MChem in 2016 at Bangor University and has a background of 4 years within the chemical industry.

Dr J T Prabhakar

Chief Technician

John has successfully built complex systems operating under ultra-high vacuum.

Like what you see?

We are always happy to consult with potential collaborators, we would like to hear from you!